Facebook has declared that it will stop using its photo syncing support. But, in exchange, the company will require users to back up their images by downloading the separate Moments app. This looks like a pretty intelligent move, especially after Facebook has closed its Creative Labs.
So, this way, users will have to use Facebook’s private photo-sharing service, Moments. The photo syncing feature has been launched sometime in 2012 and allowed users to automatically sync photos from their phones to a separate Facebook album. In that album, users had the ability to edit or share their photos on their Facebook page.
Now, it seems that Facebook has decided to stop this feature, but instead make people use the Moments app. This new app has been released in June and helps users store or share photos and albums privately with selected friends. Is this a good thing? Probably yes. So, this means that all the selected friends will have the ability to view photos from a particular event, from a party or a child’s birthday. The best part is that they will have the chance to even see photos that they didn’t take. Moreover, after downloading these photos, they can share them on Facebook.
So, when one of these photos has been shared using the Moments app, a message appears as a notification on the Messenger app, as well as on Facebook. This probably means that people who are using the Moments app must have the Messenger app downloaded, as well. “People that use photo syncing will have the option to move the photos they’ve previously synced to our new app Moments, where they will be able to view, download, or delete them,” Facebook said in a statement.
Facebook has also declared that they are planning to shut down the photo syncing feature and move to Moments app on January 10, 2016. Moreover, users who will install Moments will have access to the photos they already synced to Facebook, so they no longer have to worry about losing them.
“The Moments app lets you organize and privately share photos from your phone, and download or delete photos you’ve synced to Facebook,” the app’s site says.